CHiPs – Dax Shepard, California Sun and Motorbikes

Chips (1)

If you’re old enough… or young enough to remember the hit American TV series of the same name, you’ll love the new Dax Shepard movie.

Jon Baker and Frank “Ponch” Poncherello have just joined the California Highway Patrol in Los Angeles, but for very different reasons. Baker is a professional motorbike rider who’s trying to put his life and marriage back together. Poncherello is a cocky, undercover FBI agent who’s investigating a multi-million dollar heist that may be an inside job. Forced to work together, the inexperienced rookie and hardened veteran begin clashing instead of clicking while trying to nab the bad guys.

A self-admitted enthusiast of all things motorized and fast, Shepard talks to Moviefone about his latest movie CHiPs, Stunts and more…

Given you had that sort of mostly blank slate to start with, tell me about your process in building a movie out of that. What did you want to do with it?

“I’m always looking for anything that can combine motorsports and comedy, because all my free time is spent doing, if I’m not with my kids, I’m doing something that you put gas in. What I wanted to make was Bad Boys and Lethal Weapon. Those are the action-comedies that I love.

That was the singular goal. I think over the last 10 years, the action-comedies tend to be really comedies, and then they have a little bit of throwaway action. I was more interested in like getting the motorcycle chases right than I was worried about, say, Peña and I being funny or something…  read more

Tell us what you think!

